Skip To Main Content
Austin Public Schools

About Our School

Ellis Middle School

Welcome!

Welcome to Ellis Middle School, where students, staff, and parents work together to Engage, Empower, and Inspire every learner, every day.

Ellis Middle School offers a wide variety of courses, some are required, and others are elective in nature to provide students with an opportunity to explore their interests. Teachers, counselors, and administrators at Ellis will provide individual assistance to students in completing registration and attaining academic success.

Ellis Middle School students promote Packer Pride by being respectful, responsible, and safe. These three values are outlined on the rubric below. Please take a moment to look over the rubric and ask a school staff member if you have questions.

Classroom Matrix for Ellis

All students at Ellis Middle School are encouraged to participate in the various activities offered throughout the school year. Eligibility for some activities is based on academic credits, so please check with the Activities office if you have questions regarding participation.

Ellis Middle School maintains a history of high expectations, a variety of student activities, and excellent school spirit. We encourage students to make contributions to this reputation during their time at Ellis.
The Ellis Middle School Leadership team has established the following strategic plan for this year. This plan focuses on standard work, implementation work and learning work that will occur throughout the year.

Ellis Site Plan
Building Focus

Office Information

Hours:
7:30 - 4:00 Monday - Thursday
7:30 - 3:30 Friday

Phone: 507-460-1500

Attendance

Please call the office (507-460-1506) or email ellis.attendance@austin.k12.mn.us if your child will not be at school. You can call 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. If we are not available, please leave a message stating your child's name, grade and reason for absence from school and expected date of return. Your help is greatly appreciated!

Contacts

Jessica Cabeen
Principal
507-460-1500
jessica.cabeen@austin.k12.mn.us

Ryan Barnick
Assistant Principal
507-460-1503
ryan.barnick@austin.k12.mn.us

Kelly Pryor
Administrative Assistant
507-460-1502
kelly.pryor@austin.k12.mn.us

Sarah Diekman
Attendance Secretary
507-460-1506
sarah.diekman@austin.k12.mn.us

Melanie Bell
School Nurse
(507)460-1507
Fax: (507)433-0725
melanie.bell@austin.k12.mn.us

Kirstin Norby
Counselor
(507)460-1517
kirstin.norby@austin.k12.mn.us

Lea Oelfke
Counselor
(507)460-1513
lea.oelfke@austin.k12.mn.us

Kellie Humphress
Counselor/Records Secretary
(507)460-1508
kellie.humphress@austin.k12.mn.us

Cassandra Owens
School Psychologist
(507)460-1512
cassandra.owens@austin.k12.mn.us

John Pereda
REACH Counselor
(507)460-1510
john.pereda@austin.k12.mn.us

Tracy Bachman
Truancy Officer
(507)434-2722
tracyb@co.mower.mn.us