Skip To Main Content

Ellis Middle School

1700 4th Avenue SE
Austin, MN 55912
507-460-1500
School Hours: 8:00AM - 3:00PM


Austin Public Schools

About Our School

Ellis Middle School

Welcome!

About Ellis

Welcome to Ellis Middle School, where students, staff, and parents work together to Inspire, Empower and Accelerate every learner, every day.  In the 2023-24 school year, we will be focusing on the Core Values from our District Strategic Plan: Responsible, Resilient, Learner, Communicator, and Contributor.  The teachers will be learning ways to emphasize our Core Values in each lesson they teach.

At Ellis Middle School we offer a wide variety of courses, some required and some student choose.  We encourage students to explore their interests and make connections to the world around them.  We are developing our part in the Packer Profile and preparing students for academic success at Austin High School.  We offer a variety of co-curricular activities like clubs, sports and plays.  We strongly encourage all students to participate in one co-curricular each year they are at Ellis.

Our counselors will move with their cohort of students from 5th through 8th grade to help with the transition from Elementary to Intermediate and finally to Middle School.  This will help us meet individual student needs and assist with our District-wide multi-tiered systems of support.

Ellis Middle School maintains a history of high expectations, a variety of student activities, and excellent school spirit.  We encourage students to make contributions to this reputation during their time with us.

Grading and Reporting

Office Information

Hours: 7:45 - 3:00 Monday - Friday
Phone: 507-460-1500

Attendance

Please call the office (507-460-1506) or email ellis.attendance@austin.k12.mn.us if your child will not be at school. You can call 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. If we are not available, please leave a message stating your child's name, grade and reason for absence from school and expected date of return. Your help is greatly appreciated!

Contacts

Dewey Schara
Principal
507-460-1500
dewey.schara@austin.k12.mn.us

Joni Irvin
Assistant Principal
507-460-1503
joni.irvin@austin.k12.mn.us

Dr. Nichelle Guillaume
Dean of Students
507-460-1500
nichelle.guillaume@austin.k12.mn.us

Kelly Pryor
Administrative Assistant
507-460-1502
kelly.pryor@austin.k12.mn.us

Sarah Diekman
Attendance Secretary
507-460-1506
sarah.diekman@austin.k12.mn.us

Marge Bridgeman
School Nurse
(507)460-1507
Fax: (507)433-0725
marjorie.bridgeman@austin.k12.mn.us

Zach Langreck
Counselor
(507)460-1513
zach.langreck@austin.k12.mn.us

Farin Delaney
Counselor
(507)460-1517
farin.delaney@austin.k12.mn.us

Nicole Murphy
Counselor/Records Secretary
(507)460-1508
nicole.murphy@austin.k12.mn.us

Lisa Row
School Psychologist
(507)460-1512
lisa.row@austin.k12.mn.us

Lea Oelfke
REACH Counselor
(507)460-1510
lea.oelfke@austin.k12.mn.us

Tracy Bachman
Truancy Officer
(507)434-2722
tracyb@co.mower.mn.us

Ellis Newsletters