Skip To Main Content
Austin Public Schools

Ellis Athletics

Ellis Middle School

Ellis Families,

On April 5th, all Ellis spring sports will begin practices. The first day of practice will be at Ellis for boys golf, baseball, softball, and boys/girls track and field. Practice will be held from 3:35 to 5:00, with the exception of boys golf. They will practice from 3:35 to 4:45. If your student is a hybrid student and distance learning that day, they are still expected to attend practice. We hope to be outside as soon as possible. Once outside, practice for track will be at Wescott Field, softball and baseball will be at Todd Park, and boys golf will be at Meadow Greens Golf Course. Transportation will be provided from Ellis to those facilities if necessary. A bus back to Ellis after practice is not provided. All contests can be found on the Big9 website at https://big9conference.org/public/genie/4/school/8/.

Please feel free to contact Lisa Quednow, lisa.quednow@austin.k12.mn.us with any questions in regards to high school sports.

If you have questions in regards to Ellis sports, please contact Kelly Lang at kelly.lang@austin.k12.mn.us.

Thank you,
Kelly Lang
Ellis MS Athletic Director

Important Information

Student athlete grades will be checked on a weekly basis. Any athlete failing 2 or more classes will be required to participate in practices, but will be ineligible to participate/travel in the games/events scheduled for that week. If they do not turn in their academic slip by 4:00pm on Thursday, they are ineligible for the next contest.

Registration for spring sports is now open. If your child is interested in participating in one of these sports, they MUST have a sports physical on file at school before they can register. Registration is done through parent portal by clicking on "school store." If you do not see the spring sports options, it means there is no physical on file for your child. If you forgot your parent portal password, or need to sign up for parent portal, please contact portal@austin.k12.mn.us.

Please note: Registration closes on April 9!

Please remember to bring a face covering with you to practice. If you have signs or symptoms of COVID-19, please do not attend practice.

Games and practices can be found on the Big 9 website - https://big9conference.org/public/genie/4/school/8/ - please check this site often as practice/games may be changing.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact Ellis Athletic Director Kelly Lang at kelly.lang@austin.k12.mn.us.

Ellis Middle School Online Sports Registration

Kelly Lang
Ellis Athletic Director
507-460-1521
EllisAD@austin.k12.mn.us

Spring Coaches

Boys Golf
Dave Brown: david.brown@austin.k12.mn.us
Lise Mittag: lise.mittag@austin.k12.mn.us

Boys Track
Jordan Lee: jordan.lee@austin.k12.mn.us
Arik Andersen: arik.andersen@austin.k12.mn.us

Girls Track
Justin Heskett: justin.heskett@austin.k12.mn.us
Annette Garcia: Annette.Garcia@austin.k12.mn.us

Softball - 7th grade
Andrew Brede: andrew.brede@austin.k12.mn.us

Softball - 8th grade
Lisa Rueckert: lisa.rueckert@austin.k12.mn.us
Lainie Tufte: lainie.tufte@austin.k12.mn.us

Baseball - 7th grade
Dylan Mittlested: dylamitt2@gmail.com

Baseball - 8th grade
Brandon Tharp: brandon.tharp@austin.k12.mn.us

Girls Golf (grades 7-12)
Paula Ziems: paula.ziems@austin.k12.mn.us

Boys Tennis (grades 7-12)
Jeff Anderson: jeff.anderson@austin.k12.mn.us