Skip To Main Content

Ellis Middle School

1700 4th Avenue SE
Austin, MN 55912
507-460-1500
School Hours: 8:00AM - 3:00PM


Austin Public Schools

Ellis Athletics

Ellis Middle School

Hello Ellis Families!
 
My name is Kelly Lang and I am the athletic director at Ellis Middle School.  We are excited to have your student at Ellis Middle School this fall!  Ellis offers a variety of athletic opportunities for our students to participate in throughout the school year.  Sports offered include:
 
Fall Sports:
Boys/girls soccer
Girls tennis
Volleyball
Football
Boys/girls cross country
Girls swimming and diving (7-12 program)
Trap/skeet shooting (7-12 program)
 
Winter Sports:
Boys/girls basketball
Wrestling
Dance Team
Boys Swimming and diving (7-12 program)
Archery (7-12 program)
Girls hockey (8th grade only: 8-12 program)
Gymnastics (7-12 program)
 
Spring Sports:
Baseball
Softball
Boys/girls track and field
Boys golf
Girls golf (7-12 program)
Boys tennis (7-12 program)
Clay target shooting (7-12 program)
Adaptive bowling (7-12 program)

If your student is interested in any of these sports, they MUST have a sports physical on file with the school in order to register.  Registration is done through parent portal – under the school store tab.  You will not be able to see the sports offered until your student has a sports physical entered in Infinite Campus. Physicals can be emailed to me at kelly.lang@austin.k12.mn.us. 

Spring sports registration is NOW open!  Sports include; baseball, softball, boys and girls golf, boys and girls track and field, boys tennis, and trap/skeet shooting.  Registration is done through parent portal – school store.  You must have a sports physical on file in order to register.  If you have any questions, please contact Kelly Lang at kelly.lang@austin.k12.mn.us. 

SPRING SPORTS START DATES
(All Ellis sports will be at Ellis MS the first day)
Ellis Girls AND Boys Track:
April 4th – 3:40-5:00

Ellis Baseball:
March 29th – 3:40-5:10 

Ellis Softball:
March 28th – 3:40-5:10 

Ellis Boys Golf:
April 4th – 3:40-4:45

High School Girls Golf (7-12 program):
March 21st 

High School Trap/Skeet (7-12 program):
March 27th - Registration closes on March 11th 

High School Boys Tennis (7-12 program):
March 28th  

The last day to register for an Ellis sport is April 8th. 

Kelly Lang
Ellis MS Athletic Director 

Important Information

Student athlete grades will be checked on a weekly basis. Any athlete failing 2 or more classes will be required to participate in practices, but will be ineligible to participate/travel in the games/events scheduled for that week. If they do not turn in their academic slip by 4:00pm on Thursday, they are ineligible for the next contest.

Registration for spring sports is now open. If your child is interested in participating in one of these sports, they MUST have a sports physical on file at school before they can register. Registration is done through parent portal by clicking on "school store." If you do not see the spring sports options, it means there is no physical on file for your child. If you forgot your parent portal password, or need to sign up for parent portal, please contact portal@austin.k12.mn.us.

Please note: Registration closes on April 9!

Please remember to bring a face covering with you to practice. If you have signs or symptoms of COVID-19, please do not attend practice.

Games and practices can be found on the Big 9 website - https://big9conference.org/public/genie/4/school/8/ - please check this site often as practice/games may be changing.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact Ellis Athletic Director Kelly Lang at kelly.lang@austin.k12.mn.us.

Ellis Middle School Online Sports Registration

Kelly Lang
Ellis Athletic Director
507-460-1521
EllisAD@austin.k12.mn.us

Spring Coaches

Baseball – 7th grade
Marlon McDonald – marlon.mcdonald@austin.k12.mn.us

Baseball – 8th grade
Brandon Tharp – brandon.tharp@austin.k12.mn.us

Baseball Assistant – 7th and 8th grade
Andrew Bussey – andrew.bussey@austin.k12.mn.us

Boys Golf
Lise Mittag – lise.mittag@austin.k12.mn.us
Brian Mittag – mittagbrian00@gmail.com

Boys Track and Field
Arik Andersen – arik.andersen@austin.k12.mn.us
Brandon Robinson – brandon.robinson@austin.k12.mn.us

Girls Track and Field
Justin Heskett – justin.heskett@austin.k12.mn.us
Annette Garcia – annette.garcia@austin.k12.mn.us

Softball – 7th Grade
Andrew Brede – andrew.brede@austin.k12.mn.us

Softball – 8th Grade
Lisa Rueckert – lisa.rueckert@austin.k12.mn.us

Softball Assistant
Lainie Tufte – lainie.tufte@austin.k12.mn.us